Thursday, October 27, 2011

BBA Post-Season Awards

The Baseball Bloggers Alliance (of which Left Coast Bias is a proud member) has made their selection for the 2011 MLB Post Season Awards.

Each year, the BBA selects winners in the following categories:

Connie Mack Award (Manager of the Year)
Willie Mays Award (Rookie of the Year)
Goose Goosage Award (Top Reliever of the Year)
Walter Johnson Award (Top Pitcher of the Year)
Stan Musial Award (Top Player of the Year)

Left Coast Bias submitted ballots for the Connie Mack Award as well as the Stan Musial Award. Click here to see how my votes came out.

Well, the results are in! Here are the 2011 BBA Post-Season Award Winners

Connie Mack Award
NL: Kirk Gibson, Arizona Diamondbacks
AL: Joe Maddon, Tampa Bay Rays

Wille Mays Award
NL: Craig Kimbrel, Atlanta Braves
AL: Eric Hosmer, Kansas City Royals

Goose Goosage Award
NL: Craig Kimbrel, Atlanta Braves
AL: Jose Valverde, Detroit Tigers

Walter Johnson Award
NL: Clayton Kershaw, Los Angeles Dodgers
AL: Justin Verlander, Detroit Tigers (unanimous)

Stan Musial Award
NL: Matt Kemp, Los Angeles Dodgers (unanimous)
AL: Jose Bautista, Toronto Blue Jays

As indicated by the BBA, in all but two instances these awards have matched their BBWAA counterparts over the past two years.

1 comment:

BonnieSue12 said...

you called Kirk Gibson :)